MINUTES

Lessard-Sams Outdoor Heritage Council (LSOHC) September 1, 2020

Remote Meeting via Zoom, pursuant to MS 13D.021 and MS 13D.04

Call to Order: Chair David Hartwell called the meeting to order at 8:02am.

Members Present

Members Absent

NONE

David Hartwell (Chair) Ron Schara (Vice Chair) Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn (joined at 8:23am) Kristin Eggerling Rep. Dan Fabian Mark Holsten Sen. Andrew Lang (joined at 8:36am) Denny McNamara

Ashley Peters Tom Saxhaug

Jamie Swenson

Sen. David Tomassoni

A quorum was present.

1. Hearings for Funding Requests: Members heard the following proposals.

PRE02 – Enhanced Public Land – Grasslands – Phase V: \$3,915,500 Alex Nelson, Pheasants Forever; Scott Glup, US Fish and Wildlife Service

PREO3 – Anoka Sand Plain Habitat Conservation – Phase 7: \$5,838,200 Wiley Buck, Great River Greening; Carrie Taylor, Anoka Conservation District; Leah Hall, The Nature

Conservancy; Matt Weegman, National Wild Turkey Federation; Kristina Geiger, Minnesota Land Trust; Chuck Parins, Morrison County Public Works

WRE02 – Living Shallow Lake Enhancement & Wetland Restoration Initiative – Phase VII: \$6,930,000 Jon Schneider, Ducks Unlimited; Doug McClain, Ducks Unlimited; Stacy Salvevold, US Fish and Wildlife Service

WA01 – Accelerating the Waterfowl Production Area Program – Phase XIII: \$11,933,500

Eran Sandquist, Pheasants Forever; Scott Glup, US Fish and Wildlife Service

WA02 – Shallow Lake & Wetland Protection & Restoration Program – Phase X: \$9,980,000 Jon Schneider, Ducks Unlimited; John Lindstrom, Ducks Unlimited; Doug McClain, Ducks Unlimited

WA03 – RIM Wetlands – Phase X: \$10,000,000

Sharon Doucette, MN BWSR

WA04 – Wetland Habitat Protection and Restoration Program – Phase 6: \$6,698,000 Bev Rinke, Minnesota Land Trust; Wayne Ostlie, Minnesota Land Trust; Emilia Kenow, Minnesota Land Trust; Sheldon Myerchin, US Fish and Wildlife Service

WA05 – Wild Rice Shoreland Protection – Phase VII: \$2,000,000 Dan Steward, MN BWSR

FA01 – Southeast Minnesota Protection and Restoration Phase 9: \$11,353,900 Rich Biske, The Nature Conservancy; Wayne Ostlie, Minnesota Land Trust; Nick Bancks, Minnesota Land Trust; Haley Golz, Minnesota Land Trust; Bob McGillivray, The Trust for Public Land; DJ Forbes, The Trust for Public Lands

FA02 – Minnesota Forests for the Future Phase 8: \$8,417,600 Christine Ostern, MN DNR

FA03 – Camp Ripley Sentinel Landscape ACUB Phase IX: \$3,000,000 Shannon Wettstein, Morrison SWCD; Josh Pennington, Camp Ripley Army National Guard; Todd Holman, The Nature Conservancy; Bill Penning, BWSR

FRE01 – DNR Forest Enhancement: \$3,739, 300 Greg Hoch, MN DNR

FRE02 – Floodplain Forest Enhancement – Mississippi River Phase 4: \$3,506,200 Andrew Beebe, Minnesota Audubon Society

HA01 – St. Croix Watershed Habitat Protection and Restoration Phase 2: \$8,295,000 Monica Zachay, St. Croix River Association; DJ Forbes, The Trust for Public Land; Wayne Ostlie, Minnesota Land Trust

HA02 - Metro Big Rivers Phase 11: \$13,273,500

Deb Loon, Minnesota Valley Trust; Betsy Daub, Friends of the Mississippi; DJ Forbes, Trust for Public Land; Kristina Geiger, Minnesota Land Trust; Haley Golz, Minnesota Land Trust; Bob McGillivray, Trust for Public Land; Todd Rexine, Great River Greening

FRE 03 – Moose Habitat Collaborative, Phase IV – NE MN Forest Habitat Enhancement: \$5,624,000 Brent Rudolph, Ruffed Grouse Society & American Woodcock Society; Daniel Ryan, US Forest Service; Chris Dunham, The Nature Conservancy

HA 03 – Lower Otter Tail River Corridor Habitat Restoration – Request 1: \$4,500,000 Erik Jones, Buffalo-Red River Watershed District/Houston Engineering

HA05 – Mississippi Headwaters Habitat Corridor Project – Phase 5: \$6,912,100 Tim Terrill, Mississippi Headwaters Board; Paula West, Mississippi Headwaters Board; Will Cooksey, The Trust for Public Land; Bill Penning, MN BWSR

HA07 – Riparian Habitat Protection in the Kettle and Snake River Watersheds: \$3,000,000 Jill Carlier, Pine County Soil and Water Conservation District; Jake Granfors Pheasants Forever; Bill Penning, MN BWSR

Council discussion followed.		
The meeting was adjourned at 11:32am.		
APPROVED:		
David Hartwell, Chair	Date	
Donny McNamara Cocretany	Data	
Denny McNamara, Secretary	Date	